PDA

View Full Version : Does Anybody Else Hate S&B Brass?

gandog56
06-11-2014, 05:42 PM
I have a No.1 Mk.4 Lee Enfield in .303 Brit. On five occasions a reload caused a case separation with half the case lodged in the chamber. Upon inspection every single case was an S&B. No other brand of case has ever failed in that rifle. Makes me think S&B brass is garbage. Am I wrong?

DaveL
06-12-2014, 10:08 AM
I haven't had very good luck with S&B brass in 5.56 either. I separate them out and they go in the scrap brass can.

Mbaker78
06-12-2014, 10:37 AM
I can't say as that I've ever noticed using their brass, but I'll be on the lookout now.

WarEagleEd
06-13-2014, 08:43 AM
I have no experience with them myself, but I have noticed that others around the web do not care for S&B brass.

gandog56
06-13-2014, 12:03 PM
I'm just thinking their alloy of brass is not stout enough for a high pressure round to be able to reliably reload them.

DukeInFlorida
06-15-2014, 11:27 AM
I am seeing 9mm S&B brass that is attracted to a magnet. Which tells me it's brass plated steel... No thanks!

Pacomdiver
06-22-2014, 09:54 AM
ive had a bad batch about 4-5 years ago of s&b 762x54 with 180g sp bullets, I bought 5 boxes from a ammo vender at a bigger show, took some to the range and shot about a box worth, while picking up the emptys, I saw one that had a split neck, so I checked the other ones and 18 of the 20 had split necks. I know it wasn't the rifle as I have many wolf and win brass thru it. I opened up the other box I had with me, and sure enough, there was a bunch with split necks. I checked the other ones when I got home and 50 something of the 4 boxes had neck splits. I emailed s&b and got no reply, I called them , gave them the lot number and they said they would look into it and get back to me , never heard back so i pulled them and tossed them into the scrap brass bucket. I have a couple still floating around to remind me never to buy their crap again

lilshaunsdad